Arts and Sciences

Course: CHE 231
With an intro-level look into general chemistry, this textbook contains sections covering the foundations of organic chemistry, including “Matter, Energy, and Measurement,” (46) “Molecular Geometry and Bonding Theories,” (362), and “Chemical Thermodynamics” (850).

Course: CSC 111
Originally published in 1991, David’s Schneider’s work was designed to help students and researchers with entry-level foundation for computer programming. With extensive interactive resources, such as exercises, studies, and projects, this textbook gives readers a hands-on experience.

Course: ENG 108/109
Susan Fawcett’s book guides readers with the tools to improve paper writing. With exercises, diagrams, and visual guides, the resource gives students the chance to build stronger thesis statements to help guide overall essay writing preparation. In addition, Fawcett includes a diverse set of contributors to provide advice into the writing process.

Course: ENG 108/109
The dictionary contains over 100,000 words with their different meanings and phrases. A rich resource for students and researchers writing papers, Longman’s also defines the proper use of word combinations (“unsuccessfully tall” or “weakest link”), the etymology of words, and exercises to improve proper grammar and syntax.

Compared to similar resources this handbook is a deep dive into the mechanics and construction of language through a “cross-disciplinary” lens (xvii). Focusing on a research-based discipline, the text observes the importance of grammar, diction, and research – specifically the importance of evaluating resources and preventing plagiarism.

Course: ENG 110
Published to “reflect guidelines from the 2016 MLA Handbook” (Amazon, 2019), this handbook helps readers utilize writing tools to best approach the subjects that they are writing about. Following educational disciplines, the book is effective for a broad curriculum.

Course: ENG 110/120
This book of essays provides essays to students, exploring the opinions, craft, and subjects from many different kinds of writers. Writers such as Maya Angelou, Zora Neale Hurston, Abraham Lincoln, Salman Rushdie, and Alice Walker offer insightful essays showcasing the dynamics of essay writing as a technical, literary, or argumentative form.

Course: ENG 120
In this updated version of the textbook, readers are introduced to ideas, concepts, and approaches to effectively writing. An example of a method includes listening to other perspectives to be able to better understand one’s own point of view. With the changing academic sphere, this textbook also includes topics of online discussions and how technology has changed the way we communicate.

Course: ENG 240
With an exploration of the changing dynamics for communications in the technological era, this resource explores the fundamentals in technical communication and its manifestations in the context of today’s educational and workplace settings. This text supplements observations of communication in websites, emails, memos, and much more.

Course: ENG 240
In addition to its updated version, the eighth edition of this textbook covers technical communication including the following discussions: access to alternative resources to present other than print; research in the work setting or the importance of communicating research in the profession.

Course: ENG 240
For students studying chemistry, astronomy, or physics, this resource helps orient students and professionals at all academic levels write on a multidisciplinary level. Examples of scientific writing include grant proposals, research reports, and literary articles.

Course: ENG 290
For students hoping to strengthen their public-speaking skills, this textbook provides the techniques to improve their approach speech. Whether in front of a large crowd or a small group, students will be introduced to organizing, outlining, and researching evidence for their speeches.

Course: FRE 160, FRE 261
For students studying French this semester, this textbook is an introduction to day-to-day vocabulary, phrases, and words to help you understand the language and how it is spoken. The textbook also shows the places where French is spoken and the cultural activities and formalities of French-speaking society.

Course: FRE 160, FRE 261
As a supplementary to the Motifs textbook, this manual is filled with exercises to practice French grammar, sentence construction, and oral speech. With many reading and writing exercises, this will help guide students better understand how to write French to help guide to speak the language.

Course: HIS 141
Covering periods of history from early African civilization to the European Renaissance to Latin American independence and to East Asia development, this textbook covers the political, economic, religious, social, intellectual, and artistic (PERSIA model) aspects of history.

Course: HIS 250
With historical observations of aviation ranging from the Leonardo da Vinci’s ornithopter to the Montgolfier Brother’s hot air balloon to Count Ferdinand Adolf August Henrich von Zeppelin’s Zeppelin, this textbook serves as a rich resource of flight to all readers.

Course: HUM 250
With learning objectives that cover sound, rhythm, melody, and music forms and styles, this textbook the history of individuals and movements responsible for today musical experience. A textbook for readers that appreciate music theory, it is a resource with many different entry-level points for appreciation.

Course: HUM 251
One may ask themselves why we study the nature of human beings from history. Others may answer that the importance of sociocultural formation as the identifier to diversity of people, their environment, and their customs. This textbook goes about answering humanity’s emergence in a contemporary setting.

Course: HUM 255
For students interacting with technology, this textbook observes American History in the context of technological breakthroughs and innovations. Beginning in the pre-industrial Europe and America in its agricultural age and ending in contemporary America in a technological age and economy, readers will find value in the broad history that bridges the technological experience.

Course: HUM 256
Who am I? What am I? Why am I? These are a few standard questions that may lead one to “think” about their state of existence. Moreover, this textbook addresses the philosophy of critically thinking and how it is the foundation for higher education. This resource functions as well as a cross-disciplinary text that provides values in all subjects a student studies.

Course: MAT 108/109
With an index of activities that include American football, pets in the US, and Fruit Juice Consumption (vii), this text invites students to participate in challenging algebra concepts. Algebraic expressions, polynomials, radical expressions, or exponential functions are a few of the concepts help to orient students in mathematical foundations. Overall, the text prepares students for higher, more challenging levels of mathematics.

Course: MAT 115
This textbook instructs students on the concepts of algebra, which include Equations and Inequalities, Linear and Quadratic Functions, or Analytical Trigonometry. In order to tackle these concepts, a review precedes lesson plans, and it covers real numbers, polynomials, and other algebra essentials. In addition, external resources are provided in the text to help students improve on their algebraic skills.

Course: MAT 125
The challenges of this math form derive from the conceptual understanding of both its practical power and beauty (xi). With many exercises using numerical data and graphs, Stewart aims to explain concepts of Differentiation, Integrals, or Limits and Derivatives to help students comprehend the use of Calculus.

For a math discipline dedicated to analyzing information and organizing a number of items to better understand results for interpretation or dissemination, this text provides statistical models and concepts for intro-level students. Moreover, Salkind approaches the subject on a conversational level to help comprehension of the challenging concepts.

Course: MAT 325/445
Edwards and Penney’s dive into Differential Equations helps engineering students build upon the skills from Calculus. By observing the convergence of multiple math disciplines in relationship to cases (“failure of existence and uniqueness of solutions” or “exponential order and existence of Laplace transforms [273]”) (viii), this text helps students view the use of mathematics in a professional setting.

Course: MAT 356
For students of engineering and physical sciences, this resource introduces concepts related to probability and statistics in the professional stage. These topic areas include Probability Distributions, Regression Analysis, or Factorial Experimentation. These topics are also supplemented by examples to illustrate concepts related to the discipline.

Course: MAT 410
An important tool for science and engineering, this text on linear algebra introduces students to vectors, linear equations, orthogonality, and linear transformations. Similar to other math resources, this text serves to help students comprehend algebra to be utilized in careers in engineering and aeronautics.

Course: PHY 120
With topics in medicine, biology, and technology, Giancoli observes various topics of interest and the application of physics to help readers understand their future careers. The text also contains explanations into concepts such as electromagnetic induction and waves, magnetism, quantum mechanics of atoms, and molecules and solids. This is a great resource to observe the many facets of physics.

Course: PHY 125
In Giancoli's first volume on the study of physics, students will be able to study a number of topics, such as motion, sound, kinetic theory, or laws of thermodynamics. This serves as the introductory section of the text, preceding the latter's exploration into more advanced topics and theories of physics.

Course: PHY 225
In Giancoli's second volume on the study of physics, students will be able to study a number of topics such as electricity (charge and field, potential, or energy storage), electromagnetic waves, or quantum mechanics of atoms. This serves as the advanced section of the text, following the former's introduction to foundation of ideas for physics.